The Opinion

A monthly discussion forum on subjects dear to my heart. All opinions are just my own strongly held beliefs and are not meant to infer any right on my part. I reserve the sole right to publish, or not, on this site, any opinions sent to me by others.

And, as always, hate speech of any kind is strictly out of bounds.

The forum may also include moderated subjects from trusted friends.

Starting in June 2022

June 2022

OPINION NUMBER ONE.

The American Supreme Court & the leaked opinion paper on reversing Wade versus Roe.

For those of us too young to remember, fifty years ago, in a landmark ruling in the legal case of Wade versus Roe, the American Supreme court decided to legalize abortion across the states. But a couple of months ago leaked opinion paper from one of the extremely conservative justices on the present-day American supreme court appointed by former President Donald Trump indicated Wade versus Roe would be reversed, setting the clock and women’s rights back fifty years.

I believe this reversal would be a terrible mistake on all counts. Firstly it will make abortion a privilege and not a universal right, as the rich will go to expensive private clinics and have very hush-hush terminations. It will pave the way for ill-equipped, unsafe, and dangerous, illegal back-street clinics where women’s lives will be endangered.

I could go on and on, but I will finish by stating why should privileged and monied old white men, or any male for that matter, have any say in female reproductive matters.

Women’s bodies, their choice.

These opinions are open for reasoned debate.

July 2022

Opinion Number two.

Uhura

Trekkies should recognize that name. Nichelle Nichols played the part of Nyota Uhura, the communications officer in the original Startrek tv series. She went on to reprise the role of Lt. Uhura in the first six Startrek movies. In 1968 she famously shared the first on-screen interracial kiss with the U.S.S. Enterprise’s Captain of the time, James T. Kirk. She went on to work for America’s space agency N.A.S.A. and a lifetime of promoting racial and gender equality.

My wife and I named our black cat after her simply because she is so beautiful, independent, and super intelligent. Nichelle Nichols is a person I find very inspiring. What character, if any, from a book, tv programme, or film inspired you?

August 2022

Opinion Number Three

Social media

I have given up on all social media. It is an area of online life I can seriously do without. It is full of trolls, misinformation, misogynistic, and downright rude people looking for fights where there aren’t any. The level of intelligence involved can often be that of badly educated, misinformed teens. I have had enough.

September 2022

Opinion Number Four

The war in Ukraine

The decision by Russian President Vladimir Putin to declare war on Ukraine in February 2022 has destroyed the fragile detente that has kept Western Europe largely peaceful since the end of W.W. Two.

There are many interlinking and historical factors involved, but when all the talk is done, it comes down to an expansionist land grab attempt by President Putin. A brazen attempt to try and restore some of the former might and glory of the old Soviet Union.

Appeasement has not worked; just look at Crimea. So the unified, robust response from the western allies is crucial in standing up against this unilateral declaration of war. But how much the west itself is responsible for this state of affairs is debatable. The continuing expansion of N.A.T.O. and the E.U. to almost the borders of Russia itself has been well-flagged as a major threat to Russia’s sovereignty by President Putin in the past.

And will China, who for now is sitting on the fence, see this as a golden opportunity to expand her own sphere of influence while the western superpowers are busy elsewhere?

October 2022

Opinion number five

American mass shootings.

It now seems that hardly a week goes by without the reporting of another mass shooting in North America. Be it at a high school, in a shopping mall, or on a high street. But amidst all of this carnage and loss of innocent lives, most Americans still stubbornly uphold their right to bear arms. How many innocents must die before a halt is called to these events? Do any of the policymakers have the gumption to stand up to the gun lobby and take guns out of the equation once and for all? Or has human life become so devalued nobody really cares anymore? I know where I stand on this very divisive issue, and it is not with the gun lobby, that’s for sure.

November 2022

Opinion number six

The Soccer World Cup in Qatar

The soccer world cup which normally takes place in the closed season of the major soccer leagues in July and August, taking place in November and December to avoid the extremes of the heat of the Qatari summer. All of these leagues have been disrupted to allow the tournament to take place. Since it became known the tournament would be held in Qatar, it has been mired in many controversies, chief among them being its human rights record, criminalising the LGBTQ community, and the treatment of the foreign workers building the stadiums for the world cup. Many argue that politics and sports should not be intertwined. But there are immense levels of international prestige to be gained from hosting a successful tournament. Apart from the fact that I believe hosting the tournament should never have been awarded to Qatar in the first instant, I strongly believe in people’s right to focus attention on the issues named above in the hope of gaining some measure of change in these abuses of power.